Confession time

I have a confession to make.  I did not buy Warlords of Draenor until just now.

I just dropped the $12.49 for the game and completely forgot that new expansions do not come with a free month of game time.  Now I am in the weird place of having to pay MORE than I just paid for the expansion to play the expansion.

$12.49 for the right to pay $14.99 to play the game (for one month).

I really hate the subscription model for games like this.  I just don’t understand why I have to pay an entrance fee if I then also have to pay to go on all the rides.

If we paid for expansions OR for subscriptions I might get that, but I don’t understand paying for both.

MoochThis is the cheap bastard I have become.

What you can’t see in this picture is the $437.70 I paid from 1/7/2005 to 1/3/2009

And that number is not including what I paid for expansions (At full price when they launched)

I know blizzard is not going to change their price model for WoW, ever.  It’s to ingrained.

Unfortunately it’s also out of reach for me now that I’m no longer a slacker college kid. I have a family and a job and just can’t justify the subscription cost.  Forget paying the $44.97 it would cost for my wife, my oldest son, and me to play.

This isn’t meant to be a rant.  I’m not angry about the situation, just bummed.

Family price plans, reduced subscription cost for people who’ve not upgraded to the current expansion.  There are lots of things that could be experimented with at least.

To end on a positive note: I love my Veteran account.  When I have a free moment every few months I hop on and go to the dark moon faire or some holiday quests.  Thank you for that Blizzard!

 

 

Voice your opinion!

