Gnome Pride Rant #OOC

Why do I have Gnome Pride?  Why do am I annoyed when people make fun of gnomes?

I consider my self an above average intelligence person.  I’m of average-ish height.  For some reason I feel personally slighted when people make fun of gnomes.  Most people I dismiss.  But when someone that works at Blizzard makes fun of gnomes, it really irks me.  I’m not sure why.  Maybe it’s because I’ve played off and on the same Gnome as my main for 10 years.  I’ve invested a lot of time in to the game through that character.

I play a warrior.  As a player my character can never be the hero of the day, but I have no surrogate in the story. If you play an orc Shaman, there’s Thrall.  None of the Warriors in game do I feel like my character can relate too.  All the Gnome NPCs are so busy being engineers (Mekkatorque included) that none of them seem to have time to be Mages, Rogues, Warriors, etc.  Professions in Warcraft define very little about your character except maybe which mount they ride.

We’re coming off a World of Orccraft expansion (featuring Draenei), and are about to roll in to a World of Elfcraft expansion, and I know there is never going to be a World of Gnomecraft expansion.  I feel like admitting it will make it come true, but I already know it’s true, so no harm admitting it right?

The Legion announcement left me a little deflated.  It has a lot of cool stuff in it, but I was having such wonderful time imagining about what else next expansion could have had in it.

Playing a gnome is like being at a 7 course dinner, and while everyone else keeps getting different things to eat, for some reason they give you a salad for every course.  I see appetizers, entrees, and desserts, but they aren’t for me, I have to order off the kids menu.

Hearthstone was the best we were ever going to get it with Goblins vs Gnomes, and we still got second billing.

I made the @SiccoThermaplug twitter handle to make noise for more gnomes in Warcraft.  I really enjoy doing Sicco and am not going to stop.  I created the account with the idea that others like @Gnomeregan4ever or @HTMekkatorque would have more to say if there was a foil around for them to batter around.  I’m still going to do that, but I feel like I need to admit to myself that it is not going to work.

I’m not sure what the point (if any) of this rant is, but there it is.

/end rant.

Gnome_Crest

One thought on “Gnome Pride Rant #OOC

  1. People make fun of gnomes for the same reason they call Worgen fleabags, Draenei space hippies, Dwarfs drunkards… Because everyone is convinced they play the best race and all other races are laughing material? And most of us, if not all of us, are RPers at the heart – just look at how strong faction pride is even among non-RPers!
    I’ll quote Terry Pratchett (R.I.P.) here: “Racism was not a problem on the Discworld, because –what with trolls and dwarfs and so on– speciesism was more interesting. Black and white lived in perfect harmony and ganged up on green.” The same can be said about Warcraft.

    To be honest, I had a Gnome tank (warrior) in my Timewalking group the other day, and I laughed at the sight of our tiny tank facing huge vrykuls; because, if things in Warcraft were slightly closer to reality, one of them would have squashed our poor tank.
    Blizz made Gnomes short, very short, and in a world full of devilsaurs and giant enemies, everything indicates them as the perfect future victim. The same could be said about Goblins but for some reason Goblins look sneaky and perfectly able to pull out a bazooka from their rear pocket, while Gnomes look “cute” and scatterbrained.

    For now, everytime a Gnome gets angry, he/she makes people think of a kitten trying to look fierce. If Blizzard wanted to give Gnomes some screentime (and why not? Many people are fed up with Orcs, why not give Gnomes and Goblins their chance to shine?) they should get rid of that image first. Gnomes, IMO, would make awesome spies. They’re smart, small, and -look- nice. Warriors are nice and terrifying and all, but spies are an important part of wars too. You don’t laugh at spies – or not for long at least.

    This is my personal analysis of the situation, take it for what it’s worth 🙂 But don’t give up fighting to get Gnomes more screentime; it might seem useless at first, but I don’t think so. You won’t have a chance to get noticed if you don’t speak. Chin up my Gnome friend!

    Liked by 1 person

Voice your opinion!

